2010 Tentative List

In October 2008, the Minister for the Department of Environment, Heritage and Local Government set up an Expert Advisory Group to review Ireland’s Tentative List of sites for future nomination to the World Heritage List. The review was undertaken during 2008 and 2009, when the Group considered which sites best met the criteria required for inscription on the World Heritage List. Following public consultation, assessment of proposals and consideration of submissions, the new Tentative List was approved by the Minister and submitted to UNESCO in March 2010. It replaced the previous list that was drawn up in 1992.

Tentative List 2010 – Short Description of Sites
The Burren
Céide Fields and NW Mayo Boglands
Dublin – The Historic City of Dublin
Early Medieval Monastic Sites (Clonmacnoise, Durrow, Glendalough, Inis Cealtra, Kells and Monasterboice)
The Monastic City of Clonmacnoise and its Cultural Landscape
The Royal Sites of Ireland (Cashel, Dún Ailinne, Hill of Uisneach, Rathcroghan Complex and Tara Complex)
Western Stone Forts